01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

What HIK NVR to buy?

KISSMYAURA

Hi, newbie here.

Have a HIK 7608, had it for around 9 years or so i think want to upgrade but having fun with HIK model numbers etc
Requirements

X 2 HDMI out

8 or 16 channel with POE for say 4 or more
**important** need to be able to view via web without a plug in
use 5 IP hik cams via network swich ( one is a villa station / intercom) and 3 via POE plug n play
X 2 ethernet ( not a deal breaker)
any suggestions?

Hi @KISSMYAURA

Below are the 2 NVR models we would recommend that meet your requirements:

Hikvision DS-7716NI-I4-16P 16 Channel Network Video Recorder

Hikvision DS-7716NXI-I4/16P/S 16 Channel 4 SATA AcuSense Network Video Recorder

The only spec you requested that these models don't support is the 2 x Ethernet connections, unfortunately, this is only a feature available on the much larger 9600 Series NVRs (DS-9664NI-I8, DS-96128NI-I16, etc...).

The only major difference in spec between the above 2 models is that the AcuSense NVR allows you to apply the AcuSense smart functionality to up 4 non-AcuSense cameras, the standard 7716NI-I4 NVR will support AcuSense but only for new AcuSense camera models. In your case, as you have some existing old models the AcuSense NVR may be the one to go for.

You can learn a bit more about how non-AcuSense cameras work with the AcuSense NVR from the below forum post:

Hi Dan,

blown away with your response thank you so much! as a mod on a Land rover forum would be nice if our lot weas a helpful as you!

So if i were to add to my requirements x 2 HDMI out, what would you recommend, key is being able to view via web without a plug in, and platfotm access via hik connect etc

We have two screens, and am yet to find a decnt HDMI intelligent splitter that can cope with two different screen resolutions, and bot being turned on and off idependantly, seems to cause problems with the HDMI handshake for both screens, so only one works.