01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Best way to implement Hikvision NVR and IP cameras

sharky24

Apologies for all the questions that are going follow, I'm new to the CCTV game...

I've got a brand new HIKVISION DS-7732NI-K4/16P NVR and several HIKVISION DS-2CD2346G2-I network cameras sitting on my desk and am in need of some guidance on the best way to set them up whilst planning for future expansion in terms of more cameras.

The NVR has 16 PoE RJ45 ports on the back which I believe I can simply connect up to 16 IP cameras into directly. There is also one more RJ45 port labeled "LAN".

My first question is what's the best practice in terms of networking the NVR and cameras? Should we be considering running dedicated cabling between the NVR and the cameras so they are physically isolated from our building's LAN? Or should/could we connect it to the existing LAN but configure a separate VLAN just for the camera and NVR traffic?

One concern I have is that our building is not exactly small. The distance between where we plan to put the NVR and the furthest camera(s) could be up to 300 metres. I don't believe that the power put out by the NVR RJ45 PoE ports will carry enough juice down a 300 metre cable. Is this correct? Will we need to boost the PoE power somewhere along the line between the cameras and NVR (or use a wall/floor power outlet to power the camera)?

On our LAN we have a number of PoE switches around the building which connect to our patch room via fibre. Would we be able to connect the cameras to these switches (to power the cameras) and the fibre will carry the camera(s) feed back to the NVR via the fibre backbone?

That would be using our existing network infrastructure rather than any dedicated CCTV network set up. But if a 100% dedicated CCTV network (with cabling and switches etc) is the best option then we could head down that route.