01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Any thoughts on my first remote system?

curadh

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here, thanks Gilly for the guide, a few questions.

I have a townhouse, front door opens on to the street. Have had the front door tried in the past week, and this morning was threatened by some random scumbag. I am feeling a little vulnerable. I've been wanting away for a while, so would preferably like to install a system that I can access remotely as well as while I am there.
Attached is a picture of the house front.

So I figure I need 1 external camera, located to the extreme left or right, just under the second floor window level. Because it will be bent to look down and across the front door and windows, it should be a bullet, and the focal length probably minimal - 2.8mm or 3.6mm, so that it doesn't pick up everything on the path, only action at the front door or windows. I would route the cable from the camera up to the eaves, where it would link to receiving equipment in the attic, or alternatively into the front hall above the door. I believe a PoE would be best in case the wireless signal is a problem, and gets rid of the need for a long power lead. The camera should be movement only I suppose - in terms of storage, I believe the device will overwrite its recordings automatically every day or week or whatever according to the size.