01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Lag in cameras when viewing from home

CazzaK91

Hello, our NVR and cameras are at our work premises and the broadband is poor due to location. When viewing at home there is a slight time lag. I am looking for a potential solution to this but I am not a techie :) We were thinking of a 5G dongle although my son says this won't work as the cameras have LAN cables that will need plugged in. I am lost! Any suggestions would really be appreciated :)

Hi @CazzaK91

When you say a time lag, is it just that the time shown on the camera feeds is behind the actual time? Or, does the video itself seem to be slow / freezing?

Hi Kyle, thanks for getting back to me. The video itself is freezing slightly, so causing a bit of stopping and starting

Thanks for clarifying. Sorry, another question - how are you viewing the cameras when you see the freezing? In Hik-Connect, on a PC, or on a monitor connected to the NVR (or all of these)?

Thanks for clarifying. Sorry, another question - how are you viewing the cameras when you see the freezing? In Hik-Connect, on a PC, or on a monitor connected to the NVR (or all of these)?
Hi Kyle, we are viewing the videos on a PC and TV at our premises and there is no lagging there. The lagging happens when viewing devices at home a few miles away on smart phones and an ipad. I have since read though that it could be the upload speed so if that's the case I'm wondering what I could try to improve that? A friend mentioned PTP or a wifi extender but I'm clueless! I also read that we have to expect some lagging compared to real time :)

You're right, it could well be that your uplink speed is not enough.

How are your NVR and cameras connected to the main router? If your NVR is connected to your router via an ethernet cable then a PTP / Wi-Fi extender won't improve things for you.