01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Hikvision DS-7608NI-E2/8P NVR, can't see IP cameras on the network?

Lowell

I’m a newbie at security recorders and cameras. We have Hikvision DS-7608NI-E2/8P NVR (V3.4.3 build 160822) at our church. We have 6 Hikvision cameras installed, working and recording motion events. The cameras are Hikvision model DS-2CD2122FWD-IS. The existing NVR has never been installed on our network. I’m trying to get the NVR and cameras on the network to use with HIK-Connect. I’ve changed the NVR NIC, selected DCHP and rebooted. Running Advanced IP scanner, it finds the NIC and NVR IP addresses, but no cameras. I’m using Google Chrome. Searching Google, I found that the DS-7608NI-E2/8P doesn’t work with Chrome without installing the IE Tab extension. I installed the extension, I can login to the NVR. I still can’t see the cameras or access their menu. I'm thinking of upgrading the NVR to utilize HIK-Connect. I’m looking at a Hikvision DS-7608NI-I2/8P as a replacement. Ideas and advice please.Camt get

Hi @Lowell

First of all, we don't recommend changing the NVRs NIC address. The NIC address is the address that is used to assign IP addresses to cameras when you connect them directly to the PoE ports on the NVR.

This is probably why you can't see the cameras because you have changed the NVRs NIC but the cameras are still using addresses from that original NIC address range.

We would recommend changing the NIC back to what it was before and then there is something you can try to get the NVR and cameras on Hik-Connect.