01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Need help with laggy / choppy footage, ghost images

CLK55

Hi,

Pardon my crude explanation of the issue, I'm not a pro and this issue has me stumped. The cameras are Hikvision AcuSense DS-2CD2383G2-IU 8MP, 2.8mm Lens - Camera Firmware is V5.7.12, Build 221201. The NVR they're plugged into is a DS-7616NI-12/16P, Firmware Version 4.61.025, Build 220905.

A monitor is plugged into the NVR.

The issue I'm having involves the following matters:

1. When I watch footage on playback directly from the NVR, for instance in the event of a motion event, the footage tends to play smooth, freezes, and when it starts playing again the timer has gone up by seconds, sometimes it's just one second, other times it's 3-5. I thought it was just a problem related to motion, or smart events, but when playing back footage from plain old continuous recording with no events triggered, this problem still occurs. Both of the cameras have multiple zones for motion, line crossing and intrusion smart events.

2. When watching recorded footage pulled from the NVR on the computer using VLC, these freezes/skips mentioned in point 1 manifest differently. In other words, I see square splotches of color on the screen randomly, or, if there is something moving in the footage the moving object will freeze in place, while a copy of the moving object / person will continue moving in its original direction. Sometimes pixelated, colored squares will trail the moving object. "Ghost images."

3. It "seems" that this problem is only present during the day, but I'm not sure if I'm imagining this or if it's because there is more activity during the day and that is some how related to the issue. I can't recall the cameras having any problems with moving images at night, or early morning/dawn.