01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Trouble setting up smart events on NVR?

HikUser24

Hello, I am new to Hik Vision, but not IP cameras in general. I recently purchased a DS - 7716NI-M4/16P with a few DS-2CD3348G2-LISU cameras. I want to be able to set smart events on the NVR for these cameras without having to log into them. Currently I can only figure out how to setup regular motion events on the NVR. I have multiple properties I want to install this setup at and my local employees will not be able to get a computer out and login to change things so is it possible to make these changes on the NVR?

Hi @HikUser24

How are you accessing the NVR? Via a web browser or via a direct VGA/HDMI monitor?

This is with an attached hdmi monitor

I know you can login to the cameras with a browser, I just don’t have an easy way to do that since these are located at commercial properties.

Okay,

If you are using the direct monitor then you should find all of the supported Smart Events under the Smart Analysis menu (the magnifying glass symbol from the main menu bar)

Thanks Dan. Here's where I am at. (Pictures attached). All of my cameras look like the blank screenshot for smart events except the 1 camera I happened to log into to play with before sending it to the property to be installed. I do remember logging into that camera directly to turn on Smart events. Is there a way to get access to these settings on the NVR without logging into the camera?

71087007217__0DCF8E4D-420C-423A-AD00-85328908BE9D.jpeg

71087008681__0A8B2908-C8E1-4E13-B785-CA2900ABA13B.jpeg

Hi @HikUser24

It's very odd that you say you "turned on smart events" for the one camera that is working.

We are a UK/EU-based company and from our experience with similar spec cameras, we don't usually have to enable smart events before we can use them.

The model you have seems to be an American model, we are wondering if this could be a unique feature of certain US camera models.