01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Firmware Hikvision NVR Firmware upgrade help?

stewart

Hi can anybody help. I am new to all of this so please bear with me. I have a Hikvision NVR with the original Firmware installed, I wish to upgrade the Firmware. Having looked at the Hikvision Download Portal UK I got confused on what firmware is needed for my particular machine.
I got as far as Home » portal » Product Firmware » Hikvision » 04 Back Ends » NVR » 02 K Series [76 77 86 NI-K] » [76 77 86 NI-K] but then not sure to which folder to choose.

Out of interest if I was to upgrade with the wrong Hikvision firmware what would happen, would the NVR refuses to install it, or could it brick the NVR?

Model
DS-7604NI-K1 / 4P(B)

Current Firmware Version
V3.4.100 build 180310

Many Thanks

Stewart

Hi @stewart

The Hikvision Download Portal can be quite confusing especially when there a different versions/generations of some models which use different firmware.

In your case, the correct folder would be [76NI-K1(B)] and as you will see your current version is quite old and actually pre-dates the earliest version in that folder (v3.4.112), as you are quite far behind on firmware we would recommend upgrading the firmware in steps. Below are the versions we would recommend updating to one at a time:

V4.30.000_build200508
V4.30.060 build201228
V4.30.085 build210409
V4.30.096_build221220

If you update through these versions one at a time you shouldn't run into any problems/glitches with the NVR.

(FYI - if you did try to install the wrong firmware the update would just fail and it wouldn't cause any problem for the NVR)