01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

How many users can connect at once to an NVR?

cymruchris

Gives a lot of help
Trusted Member
I was having some thoughts recently around whether the following might work.

I have some community cameras watching owls, currently connected via a POE switch to an NVR - the NVR also has additional security cameras serving other purposes. The cameras watching owls are streamed via their RTSP feed via RTSP.me.

The streaming service over RTSP has begun charging a monthly fee - and with three cameras streaming, and the desire to add another one or two means I'm thinking of alternatives. I recently found out that you can add an IP camera to more than one NVR (I'm still learning!).

If I connected another NVR to the network (likely a Hikvision 8 channel) - has anyone tested how many people can be logged on at any time to view camera streams live?

Looking at the livestreams we use now - the peak tended to be about 15 people at any one time, so we're not talking 1000's.

If I set up a primary account and then 'shared it' with anyone that wanted it/downloaded the hikvision app - is there a limit as to how many people can join at the same time to review feeds?

What usually happens if more than one person tries to operate a PTZ? How does the NVR prioritise?

And if more than one person tried to review recorded footage would the NVR fall over or just restrict access?

There are no security implications, in that there's nothing to hide, nothing sensitive on the cameras, so having either one account shared with many other accounts, or even one account where the login details were commonly known as anyone and everyone would be permitted access, are there any steps I'd need to consider?

I did look at setting up 'users' or 'operators' - but it didn't seem to allow me to 'stop' people looking at historical footage. (each time I unticked the box it re-ticked it when it saved)